Sparkle Jar

So anyone who has a tiny terror knows that those tiny terrors can throw some serious tantrums. My little princess is no different. She is stubborn and strong willed (no clue where she got that from) and when she is in full tantrum mood, Lord help those who live below me or next door. So I found this nifty idea on Pinterest and figured it couldn’t hurt to try this Calm Jar/Time Out Jar/Glitter Jar whatever you want to call it. I call mine Sparkles, so when she is about to fit, I can have her look at sparkles. Because she IS a super girly girl and so my child that she loves anything and everything shiny/sparkly/glittery. So I figured I’d blog about it for those not on Pinterest….It took literally 2 minutes to execute and was a quick fun project for us to do!

Ingredients:

  • 1 glass jar with a lid (I used an old Ragu jar, but a mason jar or plastic soda bottle will work too. Just make sure it has a TIGHT lid!)
  • 1 container of glitter – any color (I bought a jar at WalMart for like $2.)
  • 1 container of clear glue (you can also use glitter clue, but I just went for the cheap Elmers clear)
  • Food Coloring – any color (I let Princess pick and she of course picked pink)
  • Hot Water
  • Supplies (and a tiny princess hand)

    My helper after the water went in
    Adding the food coloring
    Watch how much color you put in!!
    
    So the amounts will depend on your jar. My jar was about 2.5 cups so I needed 2 cups of hot water, 2 tbls of clear glue and about 5 drops of food coloring.

I poured about an inch of pink glitter in the jar, added 2 cups of HOT water (i just did it from the tap but you can microwave or use a hot cup from your coffee maker), 2 tbls (1 per cup of hot water) of clear glue and then used a fork to stir it all around to mix in the glue. After it was mixed I let Princess put in the food coloring, however I wasn’t thinking and let her put in too much, so its a little dark! I AM happy to report that since we made this 4 days ago, we have yet to actually NEED it!!





Swirling around!












Comment

