Happy Birthday Princess!

I can’t believe it. She’s 5. How did it go by so quickly? There is something about 5 that seems to make her seem more grown up. I guess because now she is ‘school age’. She will start Kindergarten this fall and I am so freaked out over it. I know she will love it, she loves learning, but this mommy is having major anxiety. But that’s another post for another day.

This is all about the celebration from baby to big kid. Theres just something about 5 that makes you realize your baby isn’t a baby anymore. They can sit in a different style carseat, they can eat basically anything they want (I mean, most probably can/did before, but mine seems much more open now), they can do so many more things on their own now. Learning to read, tying shoes, doing math, playing sports. Riding a bike. That was her birthday gift yesterday. A new bike. Oh how she loved it. We spent almost an hour outside yesterday riding up and down the sidewalk. She looked so sweet with the streamers, the little basket, her baby strapped in the back and her cute Ariel helmet (safety first!).

We started out our day with breakfast at IHOP to have her favorite mini-pancakes, then headed to get her big girl haircut. She was so still and so sweet while getting it cut. Her past 3 haircuts have given her some anxiety but she was so happy about this one-even without the bribe of a sucker! Guess it helps to actually have a sweet person doing the haircut for once! We headed to TRU to pick out her new bike, walked around outside for a bit enjoying the sunny, yet cold, weather and played at the play land before getting her first pair of (pink of course!) soccer cleats since her first game is coming up! We went to WalMart for the helmet, joined a friend for her favorite frozen yogurt and topped it off with a night reading books in bed. It could not have been a better more relaxed birthday! This has been the easiest birthday year in terms of work I’ve had to do, but its by far been the most emotional with the exception of her first birthday. Its like I suddenly realized I have a KID. Not this little baby I have to do everything for, but a kid who can do quite a bit for herself. And believe me, there is so much she WANTS to do by herself without my help. Just another sign of how quickly she is growing up. I admit some days I want her to be older so she is more self sufficient, but as the days go by and she needs me less and less it makes me sad. I’m enjoying most of the younger ages, she can still throw some serious fits and get too stubborn at times as well as distracted easily. But now that I see her around her soccer friends who are the same age I believe its more of the age than just the Irish blood 😉

Princess-You are growing up into such a beautiful young girl. Sweet, friendly, and with a huge heart. Although you are incredibly stubborn at times (thanks Irish blood), and want to do what YOU want to do when YOU want to do it (most of the time), you are always loving and kind to anyone who is around. I know that stubbornness will just become strength and independence. You are an amazing child and I’m so lucky you are my daughter. I can’t wait to see what this new chapter brings with cheer, sports, friends, and school. I know you will continue to grow strong and independent, and I could not want more for you than being a confident, friendly, compassionate child. And I will do everything I can to guide you to the right path and grow up strong. I love you sweet pooh-pie!!!

Always supporting her cheer family with the ‘Cheerleader Face’

Comment

